Posted by: sharethewhine | August 11, 2010

Out From Under a Rock

Wow, it has been a very long time since I wrote on this blog. I apologize for my absence. I decided at the beginning of the year that having money to pay for the necessities of life was a good idea, so I acquired a job at a local grocery store. This is in addition to taking multiple courses through distance education. Once spring hit, my duties at the family resort also started up and for a while I did indeed have two jobs while studying. I had lots of material to whine about, but little time. Currently, I am “only ” working two jobs, so I hope to throw my two cents in every now and again.

Being busy at home and taking exams in Vancouver has been interesting. I get to see my sister and her family on a regular basis, but I haven’t been to the town 10 minutes north of here in ages. The locals don’t know I exist outside of the grocery store, but I am on a first name basis with the clerk at my usual fuel stop en route to Vancouver.

On that note, to the cop the other week: Thank you for not pulling me over despite my being over the speed limit by about 20 km/hr. That was mighty sporting of you. By the way, your technique of hiding behind an oncoming semi-trailer truck was heart-stoppingly effective . By the time I saw you back there, I was able to distinguish the colour of your eyes.

This close encounter led to these parting thoughts:

What not to say when pulled over for speeding:

Question: “Do you know what you were doing back there?”                                                        Answer: “Making good time?”

Question: “Do you know how fast you were going back there?”                                                  Answer: “Before or after I saw you?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

