Posted by: sharethewhine | March 21, 2010

Jogging

Well, I attempted to jog for the first time in about 2 years today. A couple of weeks ago, my weight actually dipped below 150 pounds and stayed there for a few days. All right, I may have rewarded myself with a Krispy Kreme donut, which is completely counter-productive, but DAMN it was worth it!!!

Study stress has hit full force as I realize that the end of term is fast approaching and I am so far behind, I think I am first. Consequently, my weight-loss progress has again been nullified.

Hence the jogging.

So, there are 2 large hills (and a small dip that turns into a hill on the way back home) and about a 2 km road that leads up to the highway. This has been my route the 3 times I have been out walking. I decided prior to my departure that I would only go about half way (that is 1 hill and a dip, for those of you keeping score), as I am short on time and at this early stage it is all about getting out, not going for broke.

I neglected to stretch ahead of time and was immediately reminded that I am too old for such oversights by first one ankle “twanging” and then the other following suit. Now I am jogging like I have recently had a bilateral stroke.

Ah, the hill. I walked up the beastie because it is against my religion to run up a hill. Twice the effort for  the same speed makes no sense to me whatsoever. Now the jogging…

With each jostling bounce and laboured, cramp-infested breath, I am reminded why I gave up jogging in the first place. Bloody hell!! Suddenly, a diet consisting solely of broccoli and celery for months on end seems like a great weight-loss plan. The main thing, though, is that I did make it, although I hardly jogged the whole way. I am going to call this endeavor a “good starting point, with lots of room for progress”.

Yum, celery…

Responses

  1. I can totally sympathize….good for you for trying to get out there…. I rode my bike on the trainer the other day and was winded in 20 min….I think I will start with the eating healthy too…(as I slurp on my loaded coffee from 7-11).


Leave a Reply

Categories

