Posted by: sharethewhine | January 5, 2010

Happy New Year 2010

Hello again!

The delinquent blogger is back! Happy New Year to all of you! I am facing a new year that is sure to be filled with surprises and at least one relocation, if not more. As with the rest of the population, I am on a new year’s diet, determined (still) to lose the extra weight. In my defense, I started this battle in November, before everyone else hopped on the wagon…but the bad news is, I have yet to lose a bloody ounce, even with the head start.

Now that the holidays are over, I am getting back on track. I have started taking the acai berry supplements again, even though they do not appear to be working for me. One warning about the pills, they are not as “free” as they advertise! This should not come as a surprise to anyone. My only surprise was the fact that the “fine print” stated that I’d signed up for a subscription to these supplements and that they would keep sending them to me forever. Oh, crap! I cancelled my subscription as soon as I could, and to make a long (and embarrassing! I really should know better, I know) story short(ish), I ended up with another batch of these pills and it only cost me the equivalent of the GNP of Iceland. As a result, I am going to take the cursed pills until they are gone, because I paid for them dammit!!

A couple of weeks ago, I did start a “30 day challenge” on the “Active” game, played on my Wii. Christmas threw my good intentions for a loop and I have taken the last week (or two) off, so the exercise has yet to be effective. I am going to keep at it, however, and I have my Wii “Fit” that I will use as well. That is the plan.

The final, and most drastic, step is that I have quit drinking for the month of January. No, not forever, that would be CRAZY!! I love my wine too much to make this a permanent lifestyle change. I had my last glass of wine January 1, 2010 (I had to finish the open bottle of Inniskillin Cabernet Sauvignon). Yes, I am already missing my glass of wine with dinner. My eggnog tastes a little strange without the brandy, too, although I have to give that up now that Christmas has passed. We shall see if I make it the whole month. Sigh. Wish  me luck, I will check in again soon!

Responses

  1. I am back on the healthy/weight loss bandwagon too! I am going to Hawaii in 8 weeks and need to lose all the weight I put on after shoulder surgery and Christmas plus some. I wish you luck and if you need to chat to keep your mind off eating I am here for you.

  2. Good Luck m’dear. A new year, a new decade. It is sure to be a good one for all your endevours.

    Wondering now if your relocations may bring you this way at some point…huh?…huh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

