Posted by: sharethewhine | November 11, 2009

Diets, Tests and Other Forms of Torture

I am back from Vancouver and I am actually staying home for a whole week this time! Oooo! I have finished both of my Anatomy courses and my “unofficial” final marks look to be good enough for a solid pass. There is no actual “pass mark” designation in either course, which puzzles me and causes a wee concern. The bell curve hasn’t failed me yet (pun intended), so I should be safe. The only course left is the actual MRI course. MR physics! Shockingly, I am actually enjoying this course. The concepts are completely different to nuclear medicine radiation physics and are a bit challenging to grasp, but I actually find it interesting. Some things I am just having to accept on faith and see where they lead me. I do feel a little like Alice following the White Rabbit down the rabbit hole to Wonderland. My final final exam (for this term) is next week, so I am madly working to get my last assignment handed in. Bah, it is only MRI “safety”, so that can’t be important, right?

My side project is starting today: weight loss! I am carrying a little extra these days, so the goal is to lose a few pounds. In the interest of “science” and personal curiousity, I am going to try something controversial and see if it works. No, I am not endangering my health with Fen-Phen-esque diet pills. I am going to try taking acai berry supplements and a “cleansing” product. Oh, I hear a chorus of dissension already!! OK, so this acai berry is supposed to increase your energy, promote weight loss, cure cancer, do your taxes… Anyway, a skeptical news reporter volunteered to try this product, in order to publicly debunk it, but to her surprise it worked! Again, to satisfy my curiousity, I thought I’d do a similar experiment and keep you all apprised of the results. Maybe it works, maybe it doesn’t. The samples were free, so all I am out is a month.

OK, the product claims that you do not have to change your diet or routine, but I am going to implement a few minor changes, anyway. Starting 3 days ago, any time I want something bad for me as a snack, I must drink herbal tea. My Dad can confirm I now have about 90 types of herbal tea in the pantry and I am boiling that damn kettle about 2-4 times a day. I am reducing my wine intake (sob!). Starting Friday, I will switch from cream to milk in my coffee (I have to finish the cream first). For about two weeks, I have begun slowly reducing the amount of sugar in my coffee, with the goal being zero. I am already down to about a half a sugar spoon in a large cup of coffee (taste level: “bleah”). I am trying to eat less and have healthier snacks like almonds. I am trying to increase vegetables and cut down on grease, when possible (Dad makes the best french fries EVER!!). Finally, I will try to do some light exercise every other day (realistic starting goals, people!!), even if it is just hauling my ass up that damn hill outside Dad’s house (in my new shaping running shoes!)

I am going in to this experiment with high hopes, but low expectations. I don’t expect to be perfect and I already face a big obstacle: my trip to Florida in 2 weeks!! I may put the experiment on hold while on holiday, or I may continue with the supplements, I will see closer to the time. Either way, the whole “eating less/eating right” part of this exercise is going straight out the window for the whole holiday, that is guaranteed! Operation Weight Loss starts now. Starting weight (yes, unfortunately, I am even going to be honest here): 153 lbs.

Why am I telling you all this and promising to document the details (those that can be printed, anyway…this IS a cleanse!!)? To keep me honest! Feel free to give me feedback (or grief). With a little help from my friends and family, I hope there will be a little less of me to love soon….and hopefully my damn PANTS will FIT again soon!!!!!

In to the abyss!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

